How the ADA Helps Me

We’ve all heard the saying, “We work to live and we live to work.” I would not be able to work or live as independently as I do if it were not for the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

In the 25 years of the ADA, it has helped create opportunities for inclusion in the workforce, on the tennis court and beyond. For the average person, he or she may not realize how many accessibility features we encounter in a typical day.

Accessible Van Parking SignBy the time I get to work, I park in a handicapped accessible space. Once I’m parked, all of the doors leading to my office have automatic door openers. The restrooms and cafeteria are also easily accessible.

The ADA requires employers to provide reasonable accommodations like screen readers and voice-to-text software.  My only accommodation is a larger cubicle to maneuver my wheelchair.

Life would not be the same if it were all work and no play. So, when I’m not working, you can find me at one of my favorite restaurants. I always make sure the entrance is accessible and there are no barriers in the dining area. When the weather is nice, I like to be outdoors at accessible parks or attending sporting events.

This is just a glimpse of how the ADA helps me and others live fully. Without ADA, many people would not have the same opportunities. We have progressed in many ways, but there is still more to do to make our country more accessible.

How has the ADA helped you? Comment below.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

