5-year-old Tyreik Gadsden adjusts to his new spinal cord injury

I had the opportunity to meet Tyreik Gadsden, the five-year-old boy who was caught in the crossfire of a shooting and became paralyzed from the waist down in May in Charleston, S.C. Tyreik returned last month from a rehabilitation hospital in North Carolina where he did exercises to strengthen his body and learned how to push himself in a wheelchair.

On Monday, City of Charleston Police Chief Greg Mullen gave Tyreik a welcome home party at the police station where he received many gifts, including his own police uniform. Afterward, Tyreik and his family went to Brittlebank Park, which has a wheelchair accessible playground.

5-year-old Tyreik Gadsden with News 2's Carolyn Murray and Alex Jackson

5-year-old Tyreik Gadsden with News 2’s Carolyn Murray and Alex Jackson

It was fun watching Tyreik push himself up and down the ramps. I know as he gets stronger, he will be able to get out more often and participate in many activities.

While at the park, he was interviewed by Carolyn Murray from News 2. I will post that story on my blog once it airs.

Below are two video links about Tyreik. The first one is from the welcome home party at the police station and the second video is when he returned home from the rehabilitation facility.

http://counton2.com/2015/08/10/charleston-pd-throws-tyreik-gadsden-a-party-in-his-honor/

http://counton2.com/2015/07/23/paralyzed-5-year-old-brought-home-from-hospital-im-ready-to-lie-on-the-couch-and-relax/

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5-year-old Tyreik Gadsden adjusts to his new spinal cord injury

  1. Pingback: Top 10 blog posts of 2015 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

