A Day in the Life of Alex Jackson

I was excited when the Longevity After Injury Project at MUSC wanted to feature me in a mini documentary about living with a spinal cord injury.

The group at MUSC focuses on promoting health, longevity and quality of life after spinal cord injury. Recently, the team followed me around to see some of the activities I do in a typical day.

Throughout the video, you will get to see how I drive my van with a joystick hand control system. My van gives me the freedom of mobility to be employed at SPAWAR, and my supervisor, Lonnie Cowart, has been supportive and ensures I have the accommodations I need at work.

I also help the Longevity After Injury Project with disseminating their research to consumer magazines and publications. Working with this team gives me an opportunity to help others who are also living with an injury.

Special thanks to Josh Acuna, Kristian Manley and the Longevity After Injury Project team for allowing me to share my story in this video.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Day in the Life of Alex Jackson

  1. Roc Tennyson says:

    This is a great video. You have always been an inspiration to me and to so many of the people who know you. Thank you for always uplifting and putting others first. My love to you and your mom! Roc

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary Gianatos says:

    We are so proud of you Alex and Charleston loves you. I remember you and your Mom from the schools you attended with my son. You have the best Mom in the world.I went to high school with Lonnie and he is a great guy.Wishing you the best,Mary

    Like

  3. Pingback: A glimpse into living with spinal cord injury | Tuesday Talk With Alex

  4. Pingback: Top 10 blog posts of 2015 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

