Living beyond the wheelchair

More often than not, I hear people use the phrase, “confined to a wheelchair.” First, people are not confined or restrained to their chairs. Second, our chairs are only used as a mobility aide. I try to correct people and tell them it’s better to say “a person who uses a wheelchair.”

As part of spinal cord injury awareness month, the Golden State Chapter of the United Spinal Association created the #morethanmychair. People have been posting pictures and videos across a variety of social media platforms showing all of the amazing talents and abilities.

This past weekend, members of the Myrtle Beach Chapter of the South Carolina Spinal Cord Injury Association participated in adaptive surfing. The folks in the Charleston area will get to partake in the surfing fun this Saturday at the Folly Beach Pier.

Such activities as surfing, playing tennis and wall climbing are examples of activities regardless of their disabilities. The video below is from when I went wall climbing at the Abilities Expo in Atlanta.

For those who are new to living with a disability, don’t be afraid to live beyond your wheelchair. You will gain confidence in yourself and provide encouragement to others.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living beyond the wheelchair

  1. Pingback: Top 10 blog posts of 2015 | Tuesday Talk With Alex

Leave a Reply

