Employing people with disabilities

October is National Disability Employment Awareness Month, and people of all abilities have hopes and dreams of becoming employed. Regardless of their disability, everyone has skills and talents that can be useful on the job. Individuals with intellectual disabilities, for instance, tend to work well with tasks that have consistency while people with physical disabilities are more likely to have jobs that do not require heavy lifting or involve strenuous tasks.

Speaking at a disability awareness event at SPAWAR

Speaking at a disability awareness event at SPAWAR

While there is no hard and fast rule about which jobs a person can perform, the availability of assistive technology has made it easier to complete certain tasks. I’ve used programs like Dragon NaturallySpeaking to help with typing and have used apps on my phone to record audio or take notes.

My job at the Space and Naval Warfare Command (SPAWAR) has provided other reasonable accomodations including automatic door openers throughout the building and a spacious cubicle to maneuver my wheelchair. SPAWAR is committed to increasing diversity and has created a team to review hiring policies and procedures for people with disabilities. I’m grateful to be employed by this organization and excited for the ability to help others within the disability workforce.

Take a look at the “Who I Am” video created by the U.S. Department of Labor that recognizes and celebrates National Disability Employment Awareness Month.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

