Why we need complex wheelchairs

A typical week for me is filled with going to work, meetings in the community with disability groups and spending time with family and friends. I wouldn’t be able to have an active lifestyle if it weren’t for my wheelchair.

My Permobil wheelchair is custom fitted for me so that I can sit comfortably for long periods of time. It has tilt and recline seat functions that allow me to take pressure off of my legs and hips to prevent pressure sores. I also have a seat elevation feature that raises up about eight inches. I can elevate the chair to be at eye level folks who are standing and reach items in tall kitchen cabinets.

While my chair doesn’t define who I am, it allows me to achieve my goals and dreams. Unfortunately, there is a possibility that complex wheelchairs will receive funding cuts by Medicare. Other insurance companies usually follow Medicare’s lead, which will jeopardize people with significant disabilities.

We_the_People_logoTo prevent these cuts from happening, please sign the petition on the White House website. We need 100,000 signatures, so please share this post with all of your family and friends.

With your support, people like me can continue living as actively and independently as possible. Thank you.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why we need complex wheelchairs

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this on your Tuesday morning blog. We still need more signatures and this will devastate the most severely disabled the most. Children with Cerebral Palsy, Spinal Bifida etc will not get their mobility needs filled. Progressive diseases, ALS, MS, Muscular Dystrophy, Transverse Mylitis (TM), etc. need changes made to their complex rehab technology (CRT) chair & accessories as their disease progresses. If these changes aren’t addressed, their mobility will decrease. Thanks so much Alex for all you do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jill Monger says:

    I hope Alex doesn’t mind if I disclose that the specific wheelchair he uses is no longer on the market. This is a direct result of past CMS cuts excluding technology needed for use “use outside the home”. These next cuts will be even more painful if we do not stop them (if congress doesn’t stop them that is). Please, we need MANY more signatures by the 22nd! Bless you all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

