Connecting STEM with real-life solutions

Women in Charge - presentation

Speaking to Women in Charge students at Moultrie Middle School

The Women in Charge: Engineering Women’s Lives is a group at Moultrie Middle School in Mt. Pleasant, S.C., that “enables female students to engineer the life of which they dream by uncovering their future in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM)!”

They invited me to talk about how technology helps me live independently. These young ladies are interested in careers ranging from science to information technology. Since STEM was a focal point of the discussion, I mentioned that I worked with engineers at SPAWAR who develop tools to help our military.

From a personal perspective, I talked about how the spinal cord functions, and that, when it becomes paralyzed, it affects the ability to use certain parts of the body.

Women in Charge - group photo

At the end of the day, the students were really excited to check out my van. I explained the process of learning how to drive with a joystick system, and the many steps involved to adapt the vehicle with the proper equipment.

It is exciting to hear what their inquisitive minds are thinking, and I’m looking forward to what the future holds for these Women in Charge as they are connecting STEM with real-life solutions.

To see more photos from my presentation, go to Tuesday Talk With Alex on Facebook.

Women in Charge students taking a look in the van.

Women in Charge students taking a look in the van.

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

