The Festival of Lights at James Island County Park

Festival of Lights 2015

It’s a Charleston tradition to ring in the holiday season by visiting the Festival of Lights. From aquatic animals to dinosaurs and everything in between, there is sure to be a light display that sparks your interest.

Driving through the park is one way to view the thousands of lights, but guests can park and take a train ride to explore the area. For a long time, the train wasn’t wheelchair accessible. However, this is the first year there is a wheelchair-accessible train car.

The train car has a fold-out ramp allowing one person in a wheelchair to ride at a time. My chair was tied down using the same style of tie downs used in vehicles. The 10-minute tour through the trails of the park provides a fun way to see the lights.

Festival of Lights Train 2015

Rashad Bennett and I on the train.

I’m always excited when accessibility improvements are made. The Charleston County Park and Recreation Commission has done a nice job to  improve the accommodations for people with disabilities.

The Festival of Lights ends January 3, so be sure to check it out. For more information, visit https://ccprc.com/1546/Holiday-Festival-of-Lights.

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

