Mayor John Tecklenburg takes office

Monday marked a new day in Charleston’s history. Mayor Joseph P. Riley Jr. retired after 40 years as the leader of the Holy City. Now, incoming Mayor John Tecklenburg is at the helm.

A photo opportunity with Charleston's newest mayor, John Tecklenburg.

A photo opportunity with Charleston’s newest mayor, John Tecklenburg.

I attended Mayor Tecklenburg’s inauguration reception and had the chance to take a picture with him. I’m looking forward to working with the mayor to continue improving accessibility within our city.

Thanks, Joe!

Mayor Joe Riley’s legacy will continue to be a positive influence on our community. He has done a lot for accessibility within Charleston. He helped improve the accessibility of the scenic sidewalk along The Battery and declared the first Saturday in November as Students with Disabilities Day.

Mayor Joe Riley with Meagan Orton and me at a Gavalas Kolanko Foundation Luncheon.

Mayor Joe Riley with Meagan Orton and me at a Gavalas Kolanko Foundation Luncheon. Meagan and I are on the Board of Directors for the Foundation.

That first Saturday in November is when the Charleston James Island Connector Run is often held each year. The race is a fundraiser to provide scholarships to students with disabilities through the Gavalas Kolanko Foundation.

As we move in to this new era in Charleston, let us continue to make strides for inclusion and diversity for all people.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in charleston and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

