A Black History Moment: Remembering Blind Tom

Before Stevie Wonder and Ray Charles were sharing their musical talents, there was Blind Tom Wiggins. Born in 1848, Wiggins was born autistic and blind. He grew up a slave, yet was an accomplished pianist who later traveled around the country showcasing his skills.

The Ballad of Blind Tom, a book written by Deirdre O’Connell, tells about the life and legacy of America’s lost musical genius. Watch the video below to hear the creative sounds of Wiggins, who was known as the slave pianist and autistic savant.

For more information, go to www.blindtom.org.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Black History Moment: Remembering Blind Tom

Leave a Reply

