The Meagan Orton Story

When you get the opportunity to know Meagan Orton, you will meet one of the nicest, most caring people on Earth. She goes above and beyond to help others, and is dedicated to promoting advocacy for people with disabilities.

I met Meagan while we were undergraduate students at College of Charleston after she suddenly lost her hearing while in college. She has not let her disability interfere with her love for life. In fact, she has used her hearing loss as a sounding board to educate others.

Meagan and I were both recipients of the Gavalas Kolanko Foundation scholarship, which provides financial aid to students with disabilities at Charleston-area colleges and universities. We continue to work with the Foundation to promote the Charleston James Island Connector Run and many other initiatives related to inclusion.

Meagan was recently featured by the Cochlear Implant company where she shared her journey from losing to regaining her hearing with the help of a Cochlear implant. Watch the videos below and get a glimpse into the life of Meagan Orton. To continue following Meagan’s story, take a look at her blog, Behind the Sound of Silence.

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Feature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Meagan Orton Story

  1. deliabarbara says:

    Such a wonderful story that demonstrates vividly the importance and deep appreciation Meagan has of hearing and the joy is in her voice and on her face. Thanks so much Alex for presenting the importance of day to day things that are taken for granted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

