Wheelchair-friendly restaurants

Wheelchair-Friendly SignCharleston was recently named No. 15 in the Top 20 Most Charming Small Cities in America! Part of what draws people to the area is it’s restaurant scene. There are tons of great restaurants around town, but some of them are easier to get in than others…especially if you’re using a wheelchair.

I’ve had my share of interesting experiences of getting into restaurants, whether it’s going down a side alley to go through the kitchen or using the back entrance to get to the dining room. I know there are a lot of constraints in modifying historic buildings, but at least these restaurant owners are proving an accommodation to the problem.

Sporkful.com posted an article and podcast about wheelchair accessibility. The story features David Friedman who writes a blog called The Disabled Foodie. He reviews restaurants for their food and wheelchair accessibility. John Hockenberry, from the national radio show, The Takeaway, also shares his experiences along with Zach Anner, a comedian with Cerebral Palsy who has his own Youtube channel. Take a look at the story and listen to the podcast: http://www.sporkful.com/dining-out-in-a-wheelchair-2/.

Share your favorite restaurants in the comment section below and let me know how you overcame the physical barriers.

 

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in charleston, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

