TV commercials featuring the disabled

Angela Rockwood, a quadriplegic model, who has appeared on the Push Girls television show and Nordstrom catalogs.

Angela Rockwood, a quadriplegic model, who has appeared on the Push Girls television show and Nordstrom catalogs.

With my love for media, it’s always exciting to see the inclusion of people with disabilities in television shows and commercials. Even though improvements are being made, there is still a disproportionate number of commercials that do not include those with disabilities.

The cover story of New Mobility Magazine describes how some advertising agencies are becoming more inclusive for both television and print media. Angela Rockwood, a model from the TV show, Push Girls, has been featured in Nordstrom ads and catalogs. Kroger grocery stores, Kleenex tissues and Honey Maid graham crackers are among the companies that have featured people with disabilities.

Take a look at Allen Rucker’s story in New Mobility. As we break down the barriers for inclusion, there will be more folks like me gracing the presence of television screens and magazine pages.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

