Advocacy Day at the Statehouse 2016

Advocacy Day banner at the South Carolina State House.

Advocacy Day banner at the South Carolina State House.

I spent the day in Columbia, SC at the Advocacy Day rally for people with the disabilities. The for main topics of discussion were related to healthcare, employment, housing and transportation.

A few members from the South Carolina Legislature addressed the crowd and a proclamation was read to commemorate the day. Several members from the disability community from around the state pitched their stump speeches, so to speak, on issues that mattered most to them.

Maria Saxon of Charleston spoke about the importance of accessible healthcare facilities, and she also shared her experience on disability employment.

Even though today was Advocacy Day, we can promote awareness and educate our community and legislators all year long. To see my photos from today’s event, go to https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10101551236731164.1073741875.21310342&type=1&l=d6ab339d16.

IMG_1791

Maria Saxon waving to vehicles passing by in front of the State House.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

