Lowcountry Giving Day and Midlands Gives

Cities and towns across the country are looking for your support today as part of Giving Day. Here is your chance to help your communities through making a donation.

I’ve been involved with several Lowcountry and Midlands non-profit organizations in South Carolina. They have helped me overcome many obstacles of living with a disability and I’m grateful I have had the opportunity to give back to those who helped me along the way. If you are looking for organizations to help today, here are a few that I recommend:

Lowcountry

AccessAbility – Formerly known as the disAbility Resource Center, this organization is one of three independent living centers in South Carolina that provides workshops on skills of independent living for people with disabilities and offers resources.

Disabilities Foundation of Charleston County – This Foundation provides programs and services for children and adults primarily with intellectual disabilities. The organization is connected with the Disabilities Board of Charleston County.

Midlands

South Carolina Spinal Cord Injury Association – The Association is a resource for people with spinal cord injuries who may have questions or are in need of resources to help them in their daily lives. The peer mentoring program provides assistance to newly-injured people who are adjusting to their disability.

To donate to the Lowcountry organizations, please visit the Lowcountry Giving Day website, For the Midlands organizations, go to the Midlands Gives website. Every donation helps; you will be making a huge impact on the lives of people with disabilities in South Carolina.

Thank you for your support!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

