Share your story on National Trauma Survivors Day, May 18

Wednesday, May 18 is National Trauma Survivors Day! This recognition provides an opportunity to educate trauma survivors and the community on recovery resources after a traumatic incident. Some disabilities resulting from trauma include spinal cord and traumatic brain injury, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and amputations.

Alex at MUSC Trauma Survivors Day May 11

Alex at MUSC Trauma Survivors Day May 11

With the support of the Trauma Survivors Network, newly-injured people have the opportunity to connect with others who are injured. While the road to recovery may seem difficult now, peer mentoring and support groups are valuable assets to improve one’s quality of life.

Several hospitals and medical facilities around the country help make up the network of trauma resources, including  the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) in Charleston, SC. MUSC held its Trauma Survivors Day celebration May 11 and several local organizations who work with people with disabilities attended the event.

The MUSC Public Relations office wrote a few stories about Trauma Survivors Network and the importance of peer mentoring. Take a look at the story where I shared how I was injured in a car accident when I was an infant.

Follow National Trauma Survivors Day on Facebook at “Trauma Survivors Network” or on Twitter and Instagram @TraumaSurvivors. Use (hashtag) #traumasurvivorsday

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Advocacy, Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Share your story on National Trauma Survivors Day, May 18

  1. deliabarbara says:

    The Trauma Survivors Network is a positive influence in the community. Adjustments to the new normal, moving forward, celebrating what I “Can Do”, facing challenges with searching different ways to accomplish things keeps life interesting. Determination to “celebrate” life is energizing.

    Like

  2. GREAT ARTICLE. Also loved the “story” link. I think it’s such a huge and positive step forward that mental health is becoming a priority and resources are more readily available. Thanks for all you do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

