Is Uber the way to go?

Uber logoWe have all heard the pros and cons of riding with Uber. Transportation Network Companies (TNC) –Uber and Lyft — are trying to make an impact on the transportation scene with vehicles that are wheelchair accessible.

However, the main issue is that each person with a disability has different needs. Some people use walkers or manual wheelchairs that can be easily folded or collapsed to fit into the trunk of a car. While others have heavy power chairs that require a vehicle equipped with a ramp or lift. There are not many Uber vehicles, or taxis in general, that can transport me and my 200-plus pound wheelchair.

I’ve given some thought to becoming an Uber driver since there is definitely a need for it. Just today, I helped two of my coworkers with disabilities get to their destinations since the Paratransit bus had issues when picking them up.

An accessible Uber would have been perfect in this situation since there weren’t many other options available. Making Uber and other TNCs more accessible will be a valued benefit for everyone.

As the importance of accessible vehicles become more prominent, there will be better access. We just have to continue to advocate and educate those around us to increase equal access. New Mobility Magazine is doing just that through their recent story.

Also take a look at Uber’s accessibility video below and let me know what you think.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is Uber the way to go?

  1. bowenm2013 says:

    Hi Alex,
    I was thinking….this could be a great new business for you and your van – providing accessible transportation!
    My friend at Lake Arrowhead, GA – where I lived before coming here, is confined to a wheel chair and has a van that she uses.
    Otherwise she would be house bound.
    Just sharing info.
    Have a great day.
    Marnette

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Alex!

    I came across your blog recently and you are so inspirational! I know you posted this back in May but I think your Uber idea is awesome!
    Thank you for sharing your story. I look forward to reading future posts!

    Best Wishes,

    Taylor

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

