Going for gold and gearing up for the Paralympic Games

Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Logos

It has been amazing watching the Olympics from Rio the past two weeks! With Simone Biles and the women’s gymnastics team leading in many of their exercise routines to Tori Bowie and the women of the track and field events who sprinted past their competitors. Michael Phelps also dominated in his events, which was most likely his last Olympic Games.

Team USA brought home an astounding 121 medals — 46 gold medals, 37 silver medals and 38 bronze medals.

These athletes have put in a lot of time and energy into becoming the world’s best athletes. They have trained for nearly their entire lives to be a part of the Olympics, something they will never forget.

I admire their determination and dedication to succeed. Their passion for learning and developing their craft is amazing. While, we may not be elite athletes, we can have the same amount of drive as they have.

I would like to share with you four traits motivational speaker Jim Rohn says we must have to become successful.

  1. Change your beliefs
  2. Get the right knowledge
  3. Become passionate about learning
  4. Discipline yourself through hard work of study.

If we apply these principles, then we can go for gold in everything that we do!

Rio 2016 Paralympics

If you enjoyed the completion of the Olympic Games, then you should be excited to watch the Paralympics from Sept. 7-18. These Games will be played by athletes with disabilities. Many of the same events you’ve seen already will be part of the line-up including wheelchair tennis, swimming and sailing.

The Paralympics can be watched on the NBC Sports Network (check your local listings). To view the television broadcasting schedule, go to http://www.nbcolympics.com/news/paralympic-schedule.

For the event schedule, check out https://www.rio2016.com/en/paralympics/schedule-and-results.

Let’s get ready to cheer on these athletes as they bring home the gold!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going for gold and gearing up for the Paralympic Games

  1. Great piece Alex. It’s James Waitzman responding through my employer’s Cruise Planners work site. I caught some great events in Rio, I especially like wheelchair rugby. I’m happy to see that the Paralympics are getting more coverage than they had in years past. My brother and sister-in-law were lucky enough to attend the Olympics and saw Bolt win his event.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

