Waves of fun during Adaptive Recreation Weekend

Riding the waves with the support of Marina Forbus, Luke Sharp and Sarah Cline.

Riding the waves with the support of Marina Forbus, Luke Sharp and Sarah Cline.

This past weekend definitely has been filled with fun activities during Adaptive Recreation Weekend. The highlight of it all was going surfing on Folly Beach!

I could not have done it without the team of volunteers and my tandem rider, Luke Sharp, as he held me on the board. Luke has been asking me for several years to go surfing, so he was excited when I took the plunge.

It was one of the most amazing experiences being on the surf board and getting to ride the waves!

Even though I had some apprehension beforehand, my fears were washed away once I saw everyone else enjoying it. I’m looking forward to the next adventure!

 

Hula hooping thanks to Hooptitude at James Island County Park.

Hula hooping thanks to Kitcat Cunningham and Hooptitude at James Island County Park.

In addition to surfing, the Adaptive Recreation Expo was held Sunday afternoon at James Island County Park. It provided an opportunity for people to try archery, wall climbing, hula hooping and much more!

This weekend would not have been possible without Wheels to Surf team, Adaptive Expeditions and the Charleston County Park and Recreation Commission.

As we close out Spinal Cord Injury Awareness Month, I want to remind everyone that this disability does not stop us from enjoying life. We’ve got to get out there to show everyone what’s possible! Thank you all for your support as I share my story on this journey called life!

Take a look at the video from the South Carolina Spinal Cord Injury Association.

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Recreation, sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

