Accessibility at polling places on Election Day

We all know that we have the right to vote and to let our voices be heard on issues that are important. People with disabilities have the same rights as anyone else. Polling places must be accessible to everyone. Whether a person is visually impaired, deaf, or uses a wheelchair, accommodations are available to make the voting process easier.

Protection and Advocacy South Carolina and the DisAbility Voting Coalition produced videos for the 2012 election. The videos describe the many ways people with disabilities can vote. Each state has different guidelines, but the major voting options are absentee ballot by mail, absentee voting in person, curbside voting and lowered voting booths at your precinct.

Take a look at one of the videos featuring my friend Alicia Reagan. If you haven’t voted before today, make sure you cast your ballot!

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Accessibility at polling places on Election Day

  1. Will S says:

    My wife just got her with a spinal cord injury a year ago. She is actually in another state in S. Florida Named Center for Neuro Recovery. Because she was in another state, she did not get the vote this year. Your blog is truly inspirational it’s nice to see movies in a good healthy direction. I wish you all the best Alex. I look forward to your next update.

    http://www.centerforneurorecovery.com/program/muscle-memory/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

