The Chucktown Redfish Roundup reeled in success for its first year

Two hundred people participated in Adaptive Expeditions’ inaugural Chucktown Redfish Roundup at Colonial Lake in Charleston, S.C. June 24. The event was the first universally-accessible saltwater fishing tournament held in the United States.

The Redfish Roundup was held at the 10-acre manmade lake that’s in downtown Charleston so that it was inclusive for everyone. The perimeter of the lake was lined with anglers with and without disabilities, families and children.

Forty tagged red drums were added to the lake in addition to the fish that are already in the lake that swim in from the Charleston Harbor. Only four tagged fish were caught and cash prizes were given to winners.

Adapted Rods and Reels

I particularly enjoyed looking at the different inventive ways people adapted their fishing rods using grips and attachments for their wheelchairs. Charlie, who has Cerebral Palsy, and his parents (pictured left below) has his fishing rod mounted to his wheelchair. Mark Riffle, from Columbia, S.C., has a device attached to his left arm to hold the fishing rod and he can reel in with his right hand.

Steve and Jessica Avinger traveled down from Conway, S.C. to participate in the tournament. Steve uses the Strong-Arm attachment on his right arm and he can reel with his left hand. The Strong-Arm can be purchased at a variety of retailers online. Take a look at the video below.

We are already planning for next year’s Chucktown Redfish Roundup and I’ll be sure to share the date here on my blog and my social media pages.

In addition to fishing, Adaptive Expeditions hosts several activities including kayaking and sailing trips, tennis clinics and hand cycling excursions in the Charleston area. For more information, visit http://www.adaptiveexpeditions.org

 

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I'm now 30 years old and I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

