Allowing Everyone to See Charleston’s Charm

Living in beautiful Charleston, South Carolina provides the chance to visit the beaches and see the ancient architecture of downtown buildings. Access to the sandy shores and many downtown walkways are difficult to navigate for people with disabilities. 

The city has made improvements along the shopping districts of King St. and The City Market. However, I would like locals and tourists to see other parts of Charleston, including the parks and plantations. Making transportation more accessible will create better opportunities for everyone to see the charm of Charleston!

Over the past few years, I’ve worked with the College of Charleston (which is located in the heart of downtown Charleston) to ensure that the campus is accessible for everyone. Sidewalks have been smoothed over and buildings have accessibility features including automatic door openers. 

Preserving the historic value of the city while maintaining functionality has been challenging. Hopefully, we can find the happy medium to make Charleston enjoyable for everyone.

Ryan Nelson, a freelance reporter for Charleston’s Post and Courier wrote a story about the lack of accessible parks and other attractions for those with disabilities. Read her story: Gaining Access: Holy City proves challenging for those with disabilities.

About Tuesday Talk With Alex

Born in Charleston, SC, I was injured in a motor vehicle accident when I was nine months old. I acquired a C5-C6 spinal cord injury. I do not let my disability deter me from acheiving my goals and enjoying life. I will be sharing my experience of living with a spinal cord injury.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment